haskell platform steering committee...

Isaac Dupree ml at isaac.cedarswampstudios.org
Mon Nov 8 04:23:58 EST 2010

Incidentally, who is actually active in the steering committee?  I see 
(if I interpreted correctly) Duncan and Thomas had the great advantage 
of getting to meet and discuss in person.  I'm a silly U.S. person 
without much travel money at present, and a sleep schedule that means 
I'm asleep during European business hours.  If this makes me a less 
effective committee member I could withdraw from that title, or y'all 
could advise me on how to be more effective, or whatever.  I feel okay 
about the current situation though (just wanted to hear what it is from 
your perspective).  We exercise direction; we don't exercise authority. 
  So, as long as it's a consistent direction.

My e-mail records suggest that when we formed the committee in July 
2009, it consisted of:
Thomas Schilling <nominolo at googlemail.com>
Iavor Diatchki <iavor.diatchki at gmail.com>
Adam Wick <awick at galois.com>
Johan Tibell <johan.tibell at gmail.com>
Duncan Coutts <duncan.coutts at worc.ox.ac.uk>
Isaac Dupree <ml at isaac.cedarswampstudios.org>

(The wiki has this info too - hopefully it will be back online soon.)

It was based on volunteers; there no worries about succession or 
anything; we got about the number of volunteers we hoped for.

Hmm, I looked back on the mailing-list, just to get one sort of 
perspective from the last few months -- Adam hasn't posted much -- I 
realized I maybe haven't posted very much until this week, although I 
have been reading the libraries@ discussions -- Iavor's also posted 
some; and Johan, Duncan, and Thomas have definitely been involved in the 
libraries & platform discussions.


More information about the Haskell-platform mailing list